• 1965

    It was created a new institute called Instituto Jaume Almera de Investigaciones Geológicas (IJAIG), under the direction of Lluís Solé Sabarís. This Institute grouped the sections of the Institute Lucas Mallada located at the University of Barcelona and its research was focused on the Geological Sciences with major emphasis in the regions near Barcelona.

  • 1978 – 1979

    The IJAIG became a center of the CSIC, independent of the University of Barcelona, being Ángel López Soler new director of the Institute. The structure of the Institute comprised 4 Structural Research Units (UEI) until 1981: Biostratigraphy, Regional and Marine Geology, Mineralogy and X-ray Diffraction and Crystal Structures.

  • 1981-1983

    The construction and inaguration of the present building of the Institute in the Pedralbes Campus of University of Barcelona.

  • 1984

    The name of the center changed to Instituto de Investigaciones Geologicas Jaume Almera (IIGJA) and it was composed of 2 Structural Research Units (UEI): Marine Geology and Resources and Materials.

  • 1986

    The Marine Geology Unit was assigned to the Instituto de Ciencias del Mar (ICM-CSIC). Another group of researchers from the IIGJA became part of the Instituto de Ciencias de Materiales of Barcelona (ICMAB-CSIC) which was created that year.

  • 1987- 1992

    The Institute was made up of 2 Structural Research Units (UEI): Environmental Geology and Geophysics. The institute was renamed as Instituto de Ciencias de la Tierra Jaume Almera (ICTJA), under the direction of Enric Banda.

  • 1993 -2005

    The ICTJA had 3 Structural Research Units (UEI): Geophysics, Environmental Geology and Natural Hazards. Ángel López Soler became director between 1991 and 2000, Montserrat Torné between 2000 and 2001, and Carlos Ayora between 2001 and 2005.

  • 2006

    Being director Manel Fernández, the Institute was reorganized into 4 departments: Sedimentary Geology, Environmental Geosciences and Crystallography, Structure and Dynamics of the Earth, and Geophysics and Geohazards.

  • 2008

    There was a restructuring of CSIC and a group of researchers from the Institute together with researchers from the Instituto de Investigaciones Químicas y Ambientales and from the Instituto de Biología Molecular de Barcelona created the new Instituto de Diagnóstico Ambiental y del Agua.

  • 2009

    ICTJA had 2 research departments: Earth’s Structure and Dynamics and Crystallography, and Environmental Geology and Geohazards.

  • 2020

    In 2020 the Institute, under the direction of Dr. Joan Martí, has experienced a complete restructuring, mergin the existing research groups into just a single one and removing the existing research departments. This unique research group will devote its efforts to achieve three main research challenges focused on global geodynamics and its relation to the mineral and energetic resources and extreme hazards. Without abandoning basic research, this new endeavor wants to provide solutions to some of the main issues that our society has to become safer and more sustainable.

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of this site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

  I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by www.channeldigital.co.uk